LIVE.LAUGH.LOVE

Hey Mom, Take A Walk In My Shoes One Day

Posted on: March 23, 2011

Living at home sucks! End of story! Maybe it’s because my parents cannot grasp the concept of me living the craziest years of my life under their roof. I thought living at home for a year during college would allow me to save tons of money but is it worth the tons of stress added on from mom and dad? I would say no.

If I don’t come home in a matter of four hours my mom gets all worried and has to send me a massive amount of text messages to make sure I am still alive and moving. After spending long cram sessions in the middle of the night, going to class, going to the gym, writing articles and stories for publications, community service, working at my job, and possibly squeezing in a hang out session with a friend the last thing on my mind is having my mom or dad nag me about being out of the house all day. My parents are extremely strict about house work being done around the house but with full time hours at my job and attending college full time it’s nearly impossible to find time to meet their demands.  The struggles of time management are one of the biggest problems amongst college students. Personally I just wish there were more hours in the day!

Saving for an upcoming house with my friends has turn out to be one of the biggest struggles of my life because on going demand from my parents and their complete obliviousness to the fact I have a busy schedule from 8am-10pm every day during the week has caused havoc for my brain to handle. With gas prices, food prices, and everything else going up my parents find it a point to tell me that living under their house means I either pay rent or obey their rules. Thank god June 1st, 2011 is right around the corner so I can start living by my rules again.

It will be such a refresh to move out of my house again and have a normal relationship with my parents that doesn’t involve constant nagging and unappreciation for the hard work I am doing today. They fail to notice that my hard work today will pay off in the end and allow me the opportunities to live the life I want to be happy with in the end. I just wish my parents walked in my shoes one day and saw what struggles a normal college girl experiences in 2011.

Leave a comment

Past Entries

Best feeling is your feet in the ocean

RSS College Candy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.